Our network

Internet Safety Video Contest winners announced | People

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Internet Safety Video Contest winners announced
People, Schools

ELK GROVE - Winners of the Elk Grove Unified School District's (EGUSD) Internet Safety Video Contest have been announced. Students in grades 4-12 were invited to produce a video that promotes the safe and ethical use of the Internet. Winners were selected at the elementary, middle and high school levels.

The contest, in collaboration with the U.S. Attorney's Office, is a component of the district's Internet Safety Initiative involving an approach to educate staff, parents and students about cyberbulling, online predator strategies and other online safety issues.

The initiative includes professional development and parent classes about Internet safety and Web 2.0 technology, an Internet safety blog and cyber ethics for staff.

The students were recognized at the EGUSD Board of Education meeting on Tuesday, January 18, 2011. The following students were recognized:

1st Place Elementary School (tie) - Foulks Ranch Elementary School

Kay Salas

Ariana Murray

Alex Catlett

Thao Pham

Nicole Skinner

(Teacher/Supervisor - Jim Bentley)

1st Place Elementary School (tie) - Elitha Donner Elementary School
Texting and Driving Don’t Mix

Kyle Gilliland

Dominick Williams

Lawayne Clark

Ryan Dunbar

Andrew Mirazo

(Teachers/Supervisors - Chris Perris, Charlie Chatten )

1st Place High School - Elk Grove High School
Behind Closed Doors

Brianna McClurg

Jorge Viña

Tyler Steege

Gina Pompei

(Teacher/Supervisor - Jennifer Moore)

People, Schools